Congratulations to the recipients of the 2023 A&S Department Awards, which were given out at Honors Convocation April 30th!

Paul Bernon Memorial Prize in Sociology: Emma Chen and Curtis Dai

Awarded each year by the faculty in the department of anthropology and sociology to the graduating senior most outstanding in sociology.

Carolyn Byington ’15 Award for Global Citizenship: Anna Marinovich

This award is given to a senior A&S major selected by department faculty for outstanding service and/or scholarship aimed at enhancing transnational and intercultural understanding. This departmental award is in memory of Carolyn Byington ’15, a double IA/A&S major passionate about responsible global citizenship.

Amanda Miner ’18 Award for Campus and A&S Department Leadership: Marcus Alston and Bria London

This award is given to a senior A&S major selected by A&S majors and minors in recognition of their significant engagement in the A&S Department and Lafayette campus and their leadership in promoting the welfare of others. This award is in memory of Amanda Miner ’18, an A&S major with a contagious love of learning about the world, exploring community, and fostering positive change through anthropology and sociology.

In addition, at the Hoff Awards Ceremony and the Honors Convocation, Emma Chen won the Marquis Award, the Eugene P. Chase Government Prize, and the Minerva & Emil V. Novak Prize in Government and Law, Bria London won the Herbert W. Rogers Psychology Prize, the Frank Kline Baker Spanish & Latin American Civilization Award, and joined Phi Beta Kappa, Anna Marinovich won the Barge Oratorical Prize, Jackie Vargas won the Mattachine Award and the Barge Oratorical Prize, Marcus Alston won the Jeremy Saxe Award, A&S Minor Abigail Milhaven won the Burton H. Cohen Memorial Prize, Lydia Howell won the Africana Studies Scholastic Award, and A&S Minor Abby Skidmore won the Dr. and Mrs. Schwimmer ’35 Prize in Honor of Theodore A. Distler.

We are so proud of all of you and your well-deserved recognition!